Library: Guide to Creating Reading Lists: Databases

Library Instruction

For resources like videos, tutorials, and quizzes on library research and information literacy, visit the Support section of the Library's website.

Library Support

EBSCO Discovery

Find articles, e-books, media, and more

Featured Licensed Databases

Besides using EBSCO Discovery Service, you can go directly to other vendors' resources. The following databases and database collections are multidisciplinary and allow linking to specific items within your course.

Alexander Street Video (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online, aka Alexander Street, is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Academic Video Online is also part of ProQuest One Academic and is searchable through the all-in-one ProQuest database link.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Looking for a scholarly Wikipedia alternative? Credo Reference offers over 2,000,000 reference entries from all the major academic subject areas to offer a great starting point for your research! Tons of images, audio files, videos and full text articles on a comprehensive list of topics, all with full citations.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PG Library now offers unlimited access to acclaimed documentaries, award-winning educational films, and helpful instructional videos through Films on Demand! Films on Demand offers a large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos, from top content providers like BBC, Cambridge Educational, National Geographic, PBS, and TED. Films on Demand's collection currently streams 341,000+ video clips / 45,000+ full-length videos / 28,000+ hours of content.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library), you can turn research into results. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale platform enables you to search through over 1,200 nonfiction e-books on business, health, law, and more within a single search. Result lists highlight entries from encyclopedias and other nonfiction reference books so you can go directly to the information you need. Great for explanations and background research!
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facts on File's Issues & Controversies offers an extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments. A cross-curricular resource, Issues & Controversies provides in-depth coverage of hot-button issues related to business, culture, education, health, media, politics, science, technology, and much more. Each article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias in order to inspire thought-provoking discussions.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With O’Reilly online learning, you get on-demand access to over 35,000+ books, 30,000+ videos, case studies, and interactive learning scenarios, enabling you to improve your knowledge and proficiency in a comprehensive list of areas in business and IT.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link brings together ProQuest's four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– and creates a cross-searchable, all-in-one research tool on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform. ProQuest supports your research needs by incorporating scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains information suited to all levels of researchers, from beginners starting their first projects to the most senior faculty. Content includes dictionary and encyclopedia entries, book chapters, full books, articles, videos, and the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (Little Green Books) and Qualitative Research Methods series (Little Blue Books). You also have access to a project planner and modules on foundational concepts and data visualization.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data, offering users over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics and 170 industries, consolidated from over 22,000 sources. Find statistics, reports, infographics, and more to support your research. Features user-friendly interface and features to help you integrate charts, graphs, and other visuals into your reports and presentations. While the datasets are multidisciplinary in overall breadth, there are also several country, company, and industry data sets and reports.
Writer’s Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Writer’s Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this indispensable online resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing, provides a wealth of vocabulary-building dictionaries, and presents a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay. An in-depth grammar section defines grammatical terms and gives examples of use, while another section explores writing style. Writing resources teach users how best to revise their work, and the intuitive design allows users to find relevant information quickly through customizable searches and browsing.