Use the resources on this page to address the following topics in your unit 5 essay:

1.     What is due process?

2.     Why is due process such a central notion in American criminal justice?

3.     Due process is a constitutional right of all persons with criminal legal problems. For deaf persons, these rights have been reinforced by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Why is it important for the due process rights of the deaf to be upheld?

4.     On June 15, 2020, the U.S. Supreme Court issued a landmark 6-3 decision affirming that the prohibition on sex discrimination in Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 extends to discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity (Americanprogress.org) What would the justice system be like without due process for the LGBTQ community?

5.     Would you want to live in a society that did not guarantee due process rights?

For background information, search Gale eBooks. This database consists of reliable reference encyclopedias and handbooks, giving you an overview of the topic.

Suggested keywords:

• due process of law
• americans with disabilities act
• civil rights act

Find topic overviews in Credo Reference and Gale eBooks databases.

Credo Reference is an excellent database to find general reference information about your topic. The results will display resources from reference books and encyclopedias as well as provide links to other resources in additional PG Library databases. See the example below searching for due process of law

Don't forget that the PG Library provides databases containing academic video resources. The suggested keywords above can also be searched in both of these databases.