Library: Library Resources for PS551: Juvenile Crime

Suggested Library Resources

The Handy Psychology Answer Book by Lisa J. Cohen
ISBN: 9781578595082
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
The Psychology of Criminal Behavior
Winnicott's Theory of the Maturational Processes by Elsa Oliveira Dias This book presents an in-depth, wide-ranging and rigorous investigation of Winnicott's central theory of maturational processes and its interrelation with psychic disorders. It provides the framework from which different aspects of the study of human nature can be developed.
ISBN: 9780429485145
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Forensic Psychology 101 by Linda Gomberg
ISBN: 9780826140746
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
The Forensic Psychologist's Role in the Juvenile Justice System
Juvenile Delinquency by Bonnie A. Nelson This book focuses on the causes, control and consequences of juvenile delinquency. Chapter One begins with an overview of the social, cultural and interpersonal issues with justice involved adolescents. Chapter Two's purpose is to help understand the major developmental theorist's view of critical developmental milestones, understand the social, biological and interpersonal effects on an adolescents' functioning; learn how rage, anger and delinquency are central components in the developing adolescents' skills to manage behavioral outbursts; identify aspects of depression and anxiety in adolescents and how these symptoms manifest into pathology; learn skills and tools to work with adolescents who struggle with these changes and adolescents who are defiant to the therapy process; identify markers related to low and inflated self-esteem and how it may disrupt adolescent development; improve awareness of friendship development and group identity contribute and its impact on decision making; and identify ethical and other best practice implications. Chapter Three studies the construction of juvenile restorative justice in Italy and Chile, how these policies are implemented in practice, and how families participate in these processes. Chapter Four discusses youth transitions and social exclusion through an empirical study of young ex-offenders' reintegration in China.
ISBN: 9781634857659
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Crime and Criminal Behavior by Analise Klein In this book, Chapter One begins with a discussion on the use of dogs in the courtroom. Chapter Two explores the research on the criminal narratives of general offending populations, and introduces new insight into Mentally Disordered Offenders (MDOs), and the impact various mental disorders may have on the structure of criminal narratives. Chapter Three critically examines the link between personality disorders and violent offending, and raises several issues that have obscured its nature. Chapter Four reviews the status of Life Course Persistent Antisocial Behavior, as well as its importance for providing future directions for the study of crime and criminal behavior in the next half century. Chapter Five reviews the nature and causes of quality-of-life crime, the indicators for measuring or benchmarking the extent of quality-of-life crime, the development of the Quality-of-Life Crime Index (QLCI), and the practical, policy and research implications of this index. Chapter Six analyses taxi driver's everyday security practices in their networks and nodes, calling attention to their conception of space and their risk management techniques.
ISBN: 9781634855808
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The Psychology of Criminal and Antisocial Behavior by Wayne Petherick (Editor); Grant Sinnamon (Editor) The Psychology of Criminal and Antisocial Behavior: Victim and Offenders Perspectives is not just another formulaic book on forensic psychology. Rather, it opens up new areas of enquiry to busy practitioners and academics alike, exploring topics using a practical approach to social deviance that is underpinned by frontier research findings, policy, and international trends. From the relationship between psychopathology and crime, and the characteristics of catathymia, compulsive homicide, sadistic violence, and homicide victimology, to adult sexual grooming, domestic violence, and honor killings, experts in the field provide insight into the areas of homicide, violent crime, and sexual predation. In all, more than 20 internationally recognized experts in their fields explore these and other topic, also including discussing youth offending, love scams, the psychology of hate, public threat assessment, querulence, stalking, arson, and cults. This edited work is an essential reference for academics and practitioners working in any capacity that intersects with offenders and victims of crime, public policy, and roles involving the assessment, mitigation, and investigation of criminal and antisocial behavior. It is particularly ideal for those working in criminology, psychology, law and law enforcement, public policy, and for social science students seeking to explore the nature and character of criminal social deviance. Includes twenty chapters across a diverse range of criminal and antisocial subject areas Authored by an international panel of experts in their respective fields that provide a multi-cultural perspective on the issues of crime and antisocial behavior Explores topics from both victim and offender perspectives Includes chapters covering research, practice, policy, mitigation, and prevention Provides an easy to read and consistent framework, making the text user-friendly as a ready-reference desktop guide
ISBN: 9780128095775
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
The Psychology of Self-Control by August van Looij (Editor) The Psychology of Self-Control reviews evidence that indicates low self-control is among the most important individual risk factors for criminal offending. A developmental pathway that begins with this risk factor and leads to criminal offending is presented, and treatment recommendations for reducing the risk that low self-control poses for criminal offending are discussed. Following this, the authors seek to explain why young adolescents have an increased likelihood of becoming involved in a troublesome youth group. Social developmental, personal, and situational risk factors are combined under the umbrella of an integrated theoretical framework that stresses the importance of the moral sense as an important mediator in the relationship between adverse developmental conditions, juvenile delinquency, and troublesome youth group involvement. The authors also test the interaction between choosing a violent response, the inability to resist temptation, and exposure to scenario-criminogeneity using a web-based randomized scenario study. The results indicate that individuals who are able to resist temptation are unlikely to choose a violent response independent of scenario criminogeneity. In the penultimate chapter, the psychological and physiological components of self-control are explored. Then, the developmental aspects of self-control, with a special focus on adolescence, are briefly presented. In conclusion, this collection reviews recent research from McCarter and Winn about the role of stakes in English auctions over Amazon.com gift cards, consumer products on eBay, and items in the behavioral laboratory. Then, the results of an experiment manipulating stakes in penny auctions are reported.
ISBN: 9781536165777
Publication Date: 2019-10-16

Assignment 4: Juvenile Crime

For this assignment, you must create a PowerPoint presentation that addresses the following questions:

What are the major differences to consider between an adult and a juvenile in a criminal case? Make sure to include:

- Psychological factors and development
- Maturity
- Cognitive factors and abilities
- Life experiences

2. In the role of an evaluator, how and why are juveniles assessed differently in the criminal justice system? Make sure to include:

- How you will assess the psychological, maturity, cognitive and life factors.
- What testing you would perform on a juvenile versus an adult.

3. In a treatment role, how would a psychologist select treatment for a juvenile versus an adult?

- Describe how and why you would choose a particular area of treatment such as sexual offenders or substance use, or address general treatment for aggression, criminal behavior, etc.
- Describe why this treatment differs for juveniles versus adults.

Use the resources and search suggestions on this page to assist with this assignment.

Suggested Keyword Searches

adult vs juvenile criminal cases
juvenile crime
determinants of juvenile crime
psychology of juvenile crime
psychology of criminal behavior
psychology of criminal behavior adult vs juvenile
cognitive factors of juvenile crime
psychological assessment juvenile crime
juvenile crime psychological testing
juvenile crime psychological treatment

These suggested keyword searches can be used on the SEARCH page of this guide or in any of the suggested databases below.

Suggested Library Databases

Locate scholarly journal articles, books, reports, and much more.

For diagnosis and assessment information, browse the DSM Library.

To locate testing instruments, browse the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print.

DSM Library (DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists use the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR) to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Through this link you will find the DSM-5-TR, the “Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,” “Clinical Cases,” and digital copies of all previous editions of the DSM.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Please note: This database has a maximum of 4 simultaneous users. If the limit is reached, please try accessing again later.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link brings together ProQuest's four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– and creates a cross-searchable, all-in-one research tool on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform. ProQuest supports your research needs by incorporating scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals. Content includes more than 223,000 full-text articles from nearly 120 journals, each employing a meticulous peer-review process. This essential collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field — from cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, educators, clinicians and students.
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
APA PsycBooks is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in psychology and related fields. APA PsycBooks includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology.