Library: Library Resources for PS551: Treatment and Assessment

Suggested Library Resources

Assessments in Forensic Practice by Kevin D. Browne (Editor); Anthony R. Beech (Editor); Leam A. Craig (Editor); Shihning Chou (Editor) Assessments in Forensic Practice: A Handbook provides practical guidance in the assessment of the most frequently encountered offender subgroups found within the criminal justice system. Topics include: criminal justice assessments offenders with mental disorders family violence policy and practice
ISBN: 9780470019016
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat; A. Jordan Wright Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
ISBN: 9781118960646
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Criminal Trials and Mental Disorders by Thomas L. Hafemeister The complicated relationship between defendants with mental health disorders and the criminal justice system The American criminal justice system is based on the bedrock principles of fairness and justice for all. In striving to ensure that all criminal defendants are treated equally under the law, it endeavors to handle similar cases in similar fashion, attempting to apply rules and procedures even-handedly regardless of a defendant's social class, race, ethnicity, or gender. Yet, the criminal justice system has also recognized exceptions when special circumstances underlie a defendant's behavior or are likely to skew the defendant's trial. One of the most controversial set of exceptions -often poorly articulated and inconsistently applied - involves criminal defendants with a mental disorder. A series of special rules and procedures has evolved over the centuries, often without fanfare and even today with little systematic examination, that lawyers and judges apply to cases involving defendants with a mental disorder. This book provides an analysis of the key issues in this dynamic interplay between individuals with a mental disorder and the criminal justice system. The volume identifies the various stages of criminal justice proceedings when the mental status of a defendant may be relevant, associated legal and policy issues, the history and evolution of these issues, and how they are currently resolved. To assist this exploration, the text also offers an overview of mental disorders, their relevance to criminal proceedings, how forensic mental health assessments are conducted and employed during these proceedings, and their application to competency and responsibility determinations. In sum, this book provides an important resource for students and scholars with an interest in mental health, law, and criminal justice.
ISBN: 9781479804856
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Forensic Psychology and Neuropsychology for Criminal and Civil Cases by Harold V. Hall (Editor); Joseph Poirier (Editor) Today's increasingly sophisticated psychological and neuropsychological assessments allow for a greater understanding, and improved evaluations, in forensic psychology. By integrating discussions of modern psychological and neuropsychological tests, with extant civil and criminal cases, Forensic Psychology and Neuropsychology for Criminal and Civil Cases, Second Edition serves as a fully-updated, professional resource outlining modern behavioral science's impact on the legal system. This second edition synthesizes the theoretical, empirical, and clinical literature, examining it through the lens of case application. The book is divided into three parts to look at foundational legal, ethical and applied issues; criminal forensic evaluations; and civil forensic evaluations. Chapters new to this edition address substance abuse and intoxication, interviewing and interrogation, criminal profiling, faked amnesia and recall skills, post-concussive syndrome (PCS), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and trends and research directions. Clinicians, researchers and psychologists practicing in any number of related fields will be able to address relevant questions from both criminal-forensic and civil-forensic perspectives. Key features: Presents the latest advances in methodology and technology to assist forensic professional in assessment and case formulation in the search for ground truth in applied settings Outlines base rates for forensic areas of concern, especially helpful in evaluation, report writing and courtroom testimony as an expert witness Addresses complex criminal issues such as competency to stand trial, criminal responsibility, mitigating defenses, and violence risk Forensic Psychology and Neuropsychology for Criminal and Civil Cases, Second Edition is an invaluable resource to clinicians, experts witnesses, and legal professionals--a helpful adjunct for mental health experts to formulate sound direct and cross-examination strategies, and eliciting suggestions for forensically-related treatment and intervention.
ISBN: 9780367415266
Publication Date: 2021-11-09

Assignment 3: Treatment and Assessment

For this assignment, you must write a paper discussing the differences and similarities between treatment and assessment when practicing forensic psychology by addressing the following:

Identify at least one treatment role for a psychologist within each area of the law: criminal, family, and personal injury.
Compare and contrast this/these treatment role(s) with that of a clinical versus forensic psychologist.
Compare and contrast how treatment may vary for a criminal, family and personal injury cases.
Identify at least one assessment role for a psychologist in a criminal, family, and personal injury case.
Compare and contrast this/these assessment role(s) with that of a clinical versus forensic psychologist.
Compare and contrast how assessment may vary for a criminal, family and personal injury case.

Use the resources and search suggestions on this page to assist with this assignment.

Suggested Keyword Searches

forensic psychology treatment
forensic psychology assessment
clinical vs forensic psychologist
treatment role for a psychologist within legal system

These suggested keyword searches can be used on the SEARCH page of this guide or in any of the suggested databases below.

Suggested Library Databases

Locate scholarly journal articles, books, reports, and much more.

For diagnosis and assessment information, browse the DSM Library.

To locate testing instruments, browse the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print.

DSM Library (DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists use the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR) to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Through this link you will find the DSM-5-TR, the “Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,” “Clinical Cases,” and digital copies of all previous editions of the DSM.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Please note: This database has a maximum of 4 simultaneous users. If the limit is reached, please try accessing again later.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link brings together ProQuest's four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– and creates a cross-searchable, all-in-one research tool on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform. ProQuest supports your research needs by incorporating scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals. Content includes more than 223,000 full-text articles from nearly 120 journals, each employing a meticulous peer-review process. This essential collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field — from cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, educators, clinicians and students.

PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
APA PsycBooks is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in psychology and related fields. APA PsycBooks includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology.

Library Resources for PS551

Purdue Global
Library
Library Guides
Library Resources for PS551
Treatment and Assessment

Suggested Library Resources

Assignment 3: Treatment and Assessment

Suggested Library Databases

Find

Support

About

Library Resources for PS551

Purdue GlobalLibraryLibrary GuidesLibrary Resources for PS551Treatment and Assessment

Suggested Library Resources

Assignment 3: Treatment and Assessment

Suggested Library Databases

Find

Support

About

Purdue Global
Library
Library Guides
Library Resources for PS551
Treatment and Assessment