Sexual Assault and Alcohol Use. In Addictions and Substance Abuse by 
Substance Use and Abuse in Relationships. In Encyclopedia of Human Relationships by 
Teen Dating Violence Prevention. In Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by Use the resources on this page to answer the Unit 5 Discussion topics.
Topic 1: Substance Abuse and Dating Violence
Alcohol has been legal for a long time and marijuana is being decriminalized in many areas. Both of these drugs have long histories with being substance abuse problems for millions of people but the use of both seems to have received tacit social approval anyway. What impact do you believe substance abuse makes in increasing dating violence and what do you forecast for dating violence as the result of substance abuse in the years to come? Support your answer with a credible source and explain your response.
Below are suggested keywords try on the Find page of this guide or in the suggested databases below.
Topic 2: Teen Dating Violence
In the article “Family Functioning among Rural Teens and Caregivers: Interactive Influence on Teen Dating Violence. Family Process,” the authors examine all forms of violence and draw some conclusions about teen dating violence within the greater sphere of violence in the United States overall. Dating violence and sexual violence are two areas where they provide statistical data that applies to your readings this week, but they apply this information within the overall violence spectrum. They also argue for proactive prevention strategies and that a public health approach is more effective than a criminal justice approach.
Read this information and determine which prevention strategy for teen violence you believe holds the most promise. Use a combination of your experience, your learning thus far, and any research you conduct for this discussion to justify your response. Provide supporting or contrasting opinions to your classmates with your follow-up responses.
Below are suggested keywords try on the Find page of this guide or in the suggested databases below.
They can be combined in any combination, and using quotation marks around groups of words will tell the database to search the words together. For example:
Statista is an excellent database offering over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics.
In the database, search for specific crime or search United States crime data in general. Keyword searches could be:
Using the quotation marks tells the database to search the words together and will help narrow the search.
This link opens in a new windowFind thousands of award-winning films using Alexander Street.
