In the unit 9 assignment, you must writ a 3-5 page paper and discuss the scientific approach used to identify and collect various types of trace, blood, and/or other biological evidence that has the potential to resolve a criminal investigation. Address the following in your paper:

1. Provide a detailed example of clues that can be gleaned from the detailed observation, examination, and analysis of at least two specific types of trace and/or biological evidence.
2. What procedures must be followed by the crime scene investigator during the evidence collection process to ensure that accurate and reliable scientific results can be obtained from a forensic analysis of the evidence?
3. Include in your paper how a crime scene investigator would defend their research in a court of law.

Use the resources on this page to help you respond to the points of your paper.

Below are suggested keywords to try on the Find page of this guide and in any of the suggested databases below.

• trace evidence collection and analysis 
• biological evidence collection and analysis 
• crime scene evidence collection process
• crime scene forensic analysis 

Also, be sure to browse the suggested item below.

Finding Journal Articles and other Publications

To search for reputable journal articles, search ProQuest Criminal Justice, a subset of ProQuest Central that focuses just on the law enforcement-related journals provided by ProQuest. This helps focus your research and cuts out publication types unlikely to have good info on this topic like newspapers.

Finding Articles in Reference Sources - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias 

Looking for a great database to begin your research? Credo Reference and Gale eBooks provides simple topic overviews.

Finding Audio/Visual Materials 

Looking for more than just articles? Alexander Street Video and Films on Demand offer great visual material.