Skip to main content

Library Resources for SC335

Research Starter

A great place to begin research is with this Research Starter from Magill’s Medical Guide.

Books of Interest

Research Strategies

This assignment requires you to create a case study based on an individual who has been diagnosed with diabetes. 

The Library has lots of reliable resources, including reference books and journals, to help you. Studies continually demonstrate a correlation between improved grades and library usage, so be sure to use the suggested research strategies provided on this page. 

Starting Out

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a great database to begin your research. This database consists of reliable reference encyclopedias and reference books, giving you an overview of the topic.

Search the collection with any of these suggested keywords:

  • diabetes
  • diabetes mellitus
  • type 1 diabetes
  • type 2 diabetes

Finding Journal Articles and other Publications

Find reputable journal articles in ProQuest Central. This collection of resources includes several health science collections such as ProQuest Biological Science.

Search generally using these suggested keywords:

  • diabetes
  • diabetes mellitus
  • type 1 diabetes
  • type 2 diabetes

 A great way to narrow your results is to combine search terms and search more specifically. For example:

  • diabetes "signs and symptoms"
  • diabetes diagnosis
  • "insulin resistance" diabetes
  • "blood glucose" diabetes
  • "hormone imbalance" diabetes

Quick tip: Using quotation marks is another way of narrowing your search results. The quotation marks tell the database to look for the words closer together (as a phrase).


Need more?

You can also try expanding your research by using the box on the Search page of this research guide. This box, powered by EBSCO Discovery Service, will expand the resources beyond just ProQuest Central and include everything EBSCO and our other databases has to offer.

Quick tip: To refine your search results even further, be sure to use the various limiters in all our database. These limiters include, but are not limited to, publication date range and source type.